George Bahgory exhibition

I visited the Lasting Impressions: Bahgory exhibition at the Sharjah Art Museum last week. George Bahgory is an Egyptian-French artist, painter, sculptor, caricaturist and political cartoonist. The exhibition displayed over 90 pieces of his work, they were divided into different periods of his life.

Although I’m not usually into this style, I found myself smiling at many of his paintings. Other times I was lost gazing at the work. I’m sharing a few photographs of his work to give you a glimpse, but wouldn’t add more. Photographs of his work can never do its justice, its just much more fascinating in real life.

Bahgory1

This painting (below) is called “People of Egypt”.

Bahgory3

Bahgory4

This one (below) is a self portrait.

Bahgory2

The exhibition is open till December 31st 2015 so if you’re around and into this, I recommend you give it a visit.

Location: Sharjah Art Museum

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

